Jenkins County, the youngest county in the Ogeechee JudicialCircuit, was named for Georgia Supreme Court Judge and Georgia Governor, Charles Jones Jenkins. The county’s late creation stemmed from concerns   relating to the fact that the city of Millen fell directly on the border of Burke and Screven Counties. This created  jurisdictional problems for the city and the courts and forced citizens to make a 20 mile trip to the nearest  superior court. Due to the lobbying efforts of the Millen News, the Georgia General Assembly created Jenkins 
County in 1905 by incorporating parts of Bulloch, Burke, Emanuel, and Screven counties. For the first five years,
Jenkins County was without a courthouse and was most likely housed in rented office space.  In 1910, Jenkins County constructed a courthouse in the county seat of Millen. This courthouse continues to house the Jenkins County Superior Court to this day.
The Superior Court is Jenkins County’s general jurisdiction trial court. It has exclusive, constitutional authority over felony cases, divorce, equity and cases regarding title to land. The exclusive jurisdiction of this court also covers such matters as declaratory judgments, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto and prohibition. The Superior Court corrects errors made by lower courts by issuing writs of certiorari; for some lower courts, the right to direct review by the Superior Court applies. Unlike most circuits, the Superior Courts of the Ogeechee Judicial Circuit also exercise Juvenile Court jurisdiction.